You Are Here: Home » News » “Fukushima, mon amour” and “Ilegitim” win the CICAE Art Cinema Award at the 66th Berlinale

“Fukushima, mon amour” and “Ilegitim” win the CICAE Art Cinema Award at the 66th Berlinale

“Fukushima, mon amour” and “Ilegitim” win the CICAE Art Cinema Award at the 66th Berlinale

The International Confederation of Art Cinemas is proud to announce that the ART CINEMA AWARD at the 66th Berlinale goes to “Fukushima, mon amour”, de Doris Dörrie (Panorama), et “Ilegitim”, d’Adrian Sitaru (Forum).

PANORAMA: “Fukushima, mon amour”

Germany, 2016, 109 min, black and white

Direction: Doris Dörrie

With: Rosalie Thomass, Kaori Momoi, Moshe Cohen, Nami Kamata, Aya Irizuki

Language: German, English, Japanese

Production: Olga Film

Distribution: The Match Factory

Synopsis:

A young German woman, Marie, travels to Japan to escape her broken dreams. She joins the organisation Clowns4Help who seek to spread a little cheer amongst the victims of the triple catastrophe in Fukushima in 2011 who are still living in manshift stills. Most of the inhabitants are elderly people who were either not able or simply did not want to move away. But Marie soon realises that she is not cut out for this task. She is about to take flight once again when she meets the headstrong Satomi, Fukushima’s last geisha, who has decided to move back into her ruined house in the prohibited area. Maria helps Satomi to clear up. The young girl and the older woman could not be more different but they gradually get to know each other and both find themselves confronted by the ghosts of their respective pasts.

Declaration of decision by the jury:

““Fukushima, mon amour” is an absolute work of art, it is poetic and reminds us impressively that life is as unique as a dream.

Light-hearted, delicate, elegant, with highly skilled black and white photography, telling the story of two women from divers cultural backgrounds and how this helps them unite and chase away the ghosts that haunt them from the past.

It teaches us how to cope with mistakes you make in life, by accepting them in order to look optimistically into the future.”

The jury:

Tiziano Gamberini, Cinema in Centro – Italsar – Faenza- Italy

Ewa Kujawińska, Nowe Kino Pałacowe – ZAMEK Culture Center, Poznań, Poland

Richard Nüsken, SchlachthofKino, Soest, Germany

FORUM: “Ilegitim”

Rumania, Poland, France, 2016, 89 min

Direction: Adrian Sitaru

With: Alina Grigore, Robi Urs, Bogdan Albulescu, Adrian Titieni, Cristina Olteanu

Language: Rumanian

Production: Domestic Film, Film Produkcja, Damned Films

Distribution: Versatile Films

Synopsis:

Sitting at the dinner table with his four grown-up children and their partners, widower Victor relishes his role as family patriarch. He holds forth on physics and wine until his son Cosma confronts him with the fact that his name has shown up in historical documents which indicate he denounced women wanting to flaunt the abortion ban in place until 1989. The mood abruptly shifts. Victor defends himself by pointing out that he is, after all, against abortion and that twins Sasha and Romi owe their very lives to this fact – their mother wanted to abort them. Yet when Sasha announces she is pregnant soon afterwards, Victor’s convictions are put to a true test.

Declaration of decision by the jury:

“We have chosen to give the Art Cinema Award to a movie questioning the relations between private and public without offering simple anwers; for an unconventional approach to acting; for finding the most appropriate cinematic language to dwell on a delicate topic. It gives the audience an intimate experience of a multilayered story about the intertwining past and present.”

The jury:

Aistė Račaitytė, Vilnius International Film Festival, Vilnius, Lithuania

Michał Matuszewski, Center for Contemporary Art Ujazdowski Castle, Warsaw, Poland

Lysann Windisch, Arena Filmtheater BetriebsGmbH, Munich, Germany

Click here to see the award ceremony (from the 9th minute):

Comments (1)

Leave a Comment

Scroll to top
agence web paris agence web paris

You Are Here: Accueil » Actualités » « Fukushima, mon amour » et « Ilegitim » remportent le prix CICAE Art Cinema Award lors de la 66e Berlinale

« Fukushima, mon amour » et « Ilegitim » remportent le prix CICAE Art Cinema Award lors de la 66e Berlinale

« Fukushima, mon amour » et « Ilegitim » remportent le prix CICAE Art Cinema Award lors de la 66e Berlinale

La Confédération Internationale des Cinémas d’Art et d’Essai est heureuse d’annoncer que le prix ART CINEMA AWARD de la CICAE a été attribué lors de la 66e Berlinale aux films « Fukushima, mon amour », de Doris Dörrie (section Panorama), et « Ilegitim », d’Adrian Sitaru (section Forum).

PANORAMA : « Fukushima, mon amour »
Allemagne, 2016, 109 min, noir et blanc
Réalisation : Doris Dörrie
Avec : Rosalie Thomass, Kaori Momoi, Moshe Cohen, Nami Kamata, Aya Irizuki
Langue : allemand, anglais, japonais
Production : Olga Film
Distribution : The Match Factory

Synopsis :
Marie, une jeune Allemande, se rend au Japon pour tenter d’échapper au souvenir de ses rêves brisés. Elle rejoint l’organisation Clowns4Help, qui tente d’apporter un peu de gaieté aux victimes de la triple catastrophe de Fukushima en 2011 qui vivent toujours dans des centres d’accueil. La plupart de ces habitants sont des personnes âgées qui ne voulaient ou ne pouvaient pas partir. Mais Marie se rend rapidement compte qu’elle n’est pas faite pour ce travail. Elle s’apprête à prendre l’avion lorsqu’elle rencontre l’entêtée Satomi, la dernière geisha de Fukushima, qui a décidé de réemménager dans les ruines de son ancienne maisonm située dans la zone interdite. Marie aide Satomi à tout remettre en état. La jeune fille et son aînée ne pourraient pas être plus différentes mais elles apprennent à se connaître et se trouvent toutes deux confrontées aux fantômes de leurs passés respectifs.

Décision du jury :
« Fukushima, mon amour” est une oeuvre d’art absolue, poétique et qui nous rappelle de manière obsédante que la vie est aussi unique qu’un rêve.
Le film est léger, fin, élégant, avec une photographie en noir et blanc très habile ; il raconte l’histoire de deux femmes venant de deux univers culturels différents, ce qui les aide à s’unir et et à chasser les fantômes du passé qui les hantent.
Il nous apprend comment gérer les erreurs que nous faisons dans la vie en les acceptant, pour pouvoir se tourner vers l’avenir avec optimisme.

Jury :
Tiziano Gamberini, Cinema in Centro – Italsar – Faenza- Italy
Ewa Kujawińska, Nowe Kino Pałacowe – ZAMEK Culture Center, Poznań, Poland
Richard Nüsken, SchlachthofKino, Soest, Germany

FORUM : « Ilegitim »
Roumanie, Pologne, France, 2016, 89 min
Réalisation : Adrian Sitaru
Avec : Alina Grigore, Robi Urs, Bogdan Albulescu, Adrian Titieni, Cristina Olteanu
Langue : roumain
Production : Domestic Film, Film Produkcja, Damned Films
Distribution : Versatile Films

Synopsis :
A table avec ses quatre grands enfants et leurs compagnes et compagnons, Victor, veuf, savoure son rôle de patriarche familial. Il discute de physique et de vin jusqu’à ce que son fils Cosma le confronte à la réalité : son nom apparaît dans des documents historiques qui indiquent qu’il a dénoncé des femmes voulant avorter malgré l’interdiction en place jusqu’en 1989. L’atmosphère change brutalement. Victor se défend en expliquant qu’il est contre l’avortement, et que c’est à cela que les jumeaux Sasha et Romi doivent leur existence – leur mère voulait elle-même avorter. Cependant, lorsque Sasha annonce qu’elle est enceinte, les convictions de Victor sont mises à rude épreuve.

Décision du jury :
« Nous avons choisi de remettre le Art Cinema Award à un film interrogeant les relations entre privé et public sans donner de réponses simples ; à une façon de jouer qui n’est pas conventionnelle ; au langage cinématographique le plus approprié pour traiter d’un sujet délicat. Le film propose au public une expérience intime d’une histoire aux multiples niveaux entremêlant passé et présent. »

Jury :
Aistė Račaitytė, Vilnius International Film Festival, Vilnius, Lithuania
Michał Matuszewski, Center for Contemporary Art Ujazdowski Castle, Warsaw, Poland
Lysann Windisch, Arena Filmtheater BetriebsGmbH, Munich, Germany

Revivez la remise des prix (à partir de la 9e minute) :
https://www.berlinale.de/de/im_fokus/videostreaming/videos/Videos.html#item=38525

Poster un commentaire

Scroll to top