You Are Here: Home » News » “LAURENCE ANYWAYS”, “THE HAPPIEST GIRL IN THE WORLD” AND “CROSSING BOUNDARIES” NOW AVAILABLE ON CICAE’S SCREENING GROUP ON CINANDO

“LAURENCE ANYWAYS”, “THE HAPPIEST GIRL IN THE WORLD” AND “CROSSING BOUNDARIES” NOW AVAILABLE ON CICAE’S SCREENING GROUP ON CINANDO

“LAURENCE ANYWAYS”, “THE HAPPIEST GIRL IN THE WORLD” AND “CROSSING BOUNDARIES” NOW AVAILABLE ON CICAE’S SCREENING GROUP ON CINANDO

The CICAE is glad to announce that 3 more films are now available in streaming in its Screening Group on Cinando.

LAURENCE ANYWAYS, Xavier DOLAN (Canada, France, 2012, 168 minutes) – Art Cinema Award, Hamburg Film Fest 2012

Synopsis : Synopsis : Set in the 90’s, Laurence tries to salvage his relationship with his fiancée Fred after revealing to her his aspirations of becoming a woman. Laurence Anyways is the story of a wild and unusual love.

The Jury’s Verdict : Graceful and powerful, effortlessly staged and with an astonishing intensity, young Canadian director and author Xavier Dolan succeeds in creating a colorful, musically and emotionally charged piece on the challenging topic of transsexuality. Dolan proves he is more than capable of expressing this melodramatic love story revealed through gorgeous details. Being a man, being a woman and being human at the same time are fundamental questions reflected by Dolan’s film. Therefore this movie has the potential of reaching a young audience with usually little affinity for arthouse productions.

THE HAPPIEST GIRL IN THE WORLD, Radu JUDE (Romania, Netherlands, 2008, 100 minutes) – Art Cinema Award, Berlinale Forum 2009

Synopsis : This sweet, simple fascinating story highlights the daily life of a Romanian family that leaves the countryside to visit Bucarest for the day. This subtle comedy smartly unveils the economic and social contradictions Romania experiences.

The Jury’s Verdict : The film depicts a world where driving a car does not get you really far, drink orange juice does not satisfy your thirst and the only freedom you are given is in a cigarette secretely smoked. The strengh of the film lies in its ability to entertain while presenting excellent artistic qualities.

CROSSING BOUNDARIES, Florian FLICKER (Austria, 2012, 90 minutes) – ART CINEMA AWARD Sarajevo 2012

Synopsis: A woman – two men: her husband wants her to flirt with the other man to distract him from finding out about the couples activities as people smugglers. The other man wants to flirt with the woman to get some evidence about the illegal things they do. They fall in love – the woman, being manipulated by both men, finally chooses the only possible way out…Love is a warm gun.

The Jury’s Verdict: : We chose the film that we think combined everything into a perfect orchestra: the screenplay, the cinematography, the acting and of course the directing. The film’s topic is universal and it deals with the human nature of always finding and pushing one’s limits. We believe that this film will find great audiences in the CICAE member cinemas and festivals all across Europe and all over the world.

The Screening Room on CINANDO aims at giving these awarded films another chance to get noticed by exhibitors, distributors, film festival programmers and other professionals who are directly involved in the quality film market, all of them being members of the International Confederation of Art House Cinemas. We encourage our members to offer these films an exploitation while the platform can also be strategically employed by international sellers who will find in this group a professional audience interested in the distribution of art house titles.

More films will soon be available to our members.

More information on Cinando.com or info@cicae.org. If you don’t have a Cinando account, please write to us at this address info@cicae.info

Leave a Comment

Scroll to top

You Are Here: Accueil » Actualités » « LAURENCE ANYWAYS », « THE HAPPIEST GIRL IN THE WORLD » ET « CROSSING BOUNDARIES » DESORMAIS DISPONIBLES DANS LE SCREENING GROUP DE LA CICAE SUR CINANDO

« LAURENCE ANYWAYS », « THE HAPPIEST GIRL IN THE WORLD » ET « CROSSING BOUNDARIES » DESORMAIS DISPONIBLES DANS LE SCREENING GROUP DE LA CICAE SUR CINANDO

« LAURENCE ANYWAYS », « THE HAPPIEST GIRL IN THE WORLD » ET « CROSSING BOUNDARIES » DESORMAIS DISPONIBLES DANS LE SCREENING GROUP DE LA CICAE SUR CINANDO

La CICAE est heureuse d’annoncer que 3 nouveaux films sont désormais disponibles en visionnage streaming dans son Screening Group sur Cinando.

LAURENCE ANYWAYS, Xavier DOLAN (Canada, France, 2012, 168 minutes) – Art Cinema Award, Hamburg Film Fest 2012

Synopsis : Laurence et Fred s’aiment d’un amour passionné. Mais le jour de ses trente ans, Laurence annonce à Fred qu’il veut devenir une femme et lui demande de l’accompagner dans sa transformation. Pour Fred, c’est un coup de tonnerre, mais elle décide malgré tout de donner une chance à leur couple. Face aux jugements et à l’incompréhension, Laurence et Fred vont tout faire pour préserver leur amour hors du commun

Le mot du jury : Grâcieux, intense et puissamment mis en scène par le talentueux jeune réalisateur et auteur Québécois Xavier Dolan, « Laurence Anyways » dépeint le sujet de la transsexualité de manière colorée et musicale, provoquant une forte charge émotionnelle. Le film est un exercice de style parfaitement réussi par son auteur, qui se révèle plus que capable d’exprimer une histoire d’amour mélodramatique par de sublimes détails. Comment parvenir à être un homme, une femme et un être humain en même temps ? Voici la question universelle que pose Xavier Dolan, permettant à Laurence Anyways d’espérer atteindre un public jeune qui a généralement peu d’affinité avec les productions Art et Essai. 

THE HAPPIEST GIRL IN THE WORLD, Radu JUDE (Roumanie, Pays-Bas, 2008, 100 minutes) – Art Cinema Award, Berlinale Forum 2009

Synopsis : Cette histoire simple et fascinante met en scène la vie quotidienne d’une famille roumaine originaire d’une ville de province qui se déplace dans la capitale. A travers le point de vue de la comédie, cette balade d’une journée à Bucarest révèle les contradictions économiques et sociales que la Roumanie traverse.

Le mot du jury : Le film nous montre un monde où conduire une voiture ne mène pas très loin, boire du jus d’orange n’étanche pas la soif et la seule liberté qu’on peut trouver c’est dans une cigarette fumée en cachette, sans permission. La force de ce film consiste dans sa capacité à amuser tout en gardant des excellentes qualités artistiques

CROSSING BOUNDARIES, Florian FLICKER (Autriche, 2012, 90 minutes) – ART CINEMA AWARD Sarajevo 2012

Synopsis: L’histoire de deux hommes pour une femme. Tandis que le premier entraîne sa femme à séduire un autre homme pour le distraire et l’empêcher de découvrir les activités de contrebandes du couple,  le dit’ « amant » utilise en réalité cette relation pour mettre à jour leurs activités illégales. L’amour vient contrecarrer ces plans et très rapidement s’ensuit un triangle amoureux où il est question de manipulation – et d’une conclusion fatale.

Le mot du jury: Nous avons choisi un film dans lequel le scénario, la prise de vue, le jeu d’acteurs et bien sûr la mise en scène sont parfaitement orchestrés. Le sujet du film est universel et il met en scène la nature humaine qui veut toujours aller plus loin et pousser ses limites. Nous croyons que ce film trouvera un excellent accueil dans les cinémas membres de la CICAE et dans les festivals en Europe et à l’international.

Le Screening Group offre une chance à des films récompensés par le prix Art Cinema Award d’attirer l’attention des exploitants, distributeurs et programmateurs de festivals du monde entier membres de la Confédération Internationale des Cinémas Art et Essai. La CICAE encourage ses membres à programmer ces films dans leurs salles tandis que la plateforme peut également constituer un débouché stratégique pour les vendeurs internationaux qui trouveront dans ce groupe un public de professionnels à la recherche de titres « art et essai ».

D’autres films seront bientôt accessibles à nos membres. Si vous ne disposez pas encore d’un compte Cinando, veuillez nous écrire à cette adresse info@cicae.info. Pour toute demande d’information, info@cicae.org

Poster un commentaire

Scroll to top