You Are Here: Home » CICAE Art Cinema Award » Memory House by João Paulo Miranda Maria and The Other Tom by Rodrigo Plá and Laura Santullo win the Art Cinema Award ex aequo at the Cinéma en Construction 37 Toulouse

Memory House by João Paulo Miranda Maria and The Other Tom by Rodrigo Plá and Laura Santullo win the Art Cinema Award ex aequo at the Cinéma en Construction 37 Toulouse

Memory House by João Paulo Miranda Maria and The Other Tom by Rodrigo Plá and Laura Santullo win the Art Cinema Award ex aequo at the Cinéma en Construction 37 Toulouse

The International Confederation of Arthouse Cinemas is proud to announce that Memory House by João Paulo Miranda Maria and to El Otro Tom (The Other Tom) by Rodrigo Plá and Laura Santullo were tied for the Art Cinema Award at the Cinélatino – Cinéma En Construction 37 Toulouse.

Film information

Memory House
Brasil, 2020, 89 minutes
Written and directed by: João Paulo Miranda Maria
Cast: Antonio Pitanga, Ana Flavia Cavalcanti, Sam Louwyck
Production: Paulo COSENZA (BOSSA NOVA FILMS) and Maneki Films
International Sales:

More information on the festival’s website.

Synopsis

Cristovam, a native from the Brazilian hinterland, works in a milk factory in a former Austrian colony in Brazil.  He feels lonely, ostracized by cultural and ethnic differences. One day, he discovers an abandoned house filled with objects that remind him of his origins. He slowly settles in this house. Curiously, more objects start to appear without explanation, as if the place was  «alive».

Jury’s decision:

Memory House is a complex and intense film that presents the cultural and social division of Brazil through an unexpected fantastic/supernatural genre. Since the beginning of the film, Cristovam’s story makes us feel connected to the ostracism and loneliness in which he lives in a small agrarian town in the south of Brazil. His alienation makes him take refuge in an old abandoned house in which memories emerge, taking him to his past but making him lose the connection with his present reality. The film, supported also with a great cinematography builds a storyline with unexpected twists that can’t leave the spectator indifferent. It’s also important to mention a great leading actor (Antonio Pitanga) that doesn’t need many dialogues to make us immerse ourselves deeply in the story. We consider that Joao Paulo Miranda is a young director that must be seen, he has created an imaginative and creative work that is a new turn on Latin American cinema.

El Otro Tom (The Other Tom)
Mexico, 2020, 110 minutes
Written and directed by: Rodrigo Plá et Laura Santullo
Cast: Julia Chávez (Elena), Israel Rodríguez (Tom)
Production: Buenaventura Producciones
International Sales: 

More information on the festival’s website.

Synopsis

Elena is a single mother and is dependent on social services. Her son, Tom, has behavioral difficulties and is stigmatized at school as a “problem child”. The father’s absence is part of the complicated bond between them. Tom will be diagnosed with “Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder” and treated for that condition. However, a freak accident will put his mother on guard against psychiatric medication. Her refusal to continue to give him medication will cause social services to threaten to remove him from custody.

Décision du jury :

The Other Tom (El Otro Tom) addresses a topic little discussed outside of the specialized fields, the diagnoses of ADHD and the treatment that health systems give to children considered “problematic”. The film finds a strong voice in its two main characters, on one hand, Elena, a young single mother that depends on social services and who has a complicated relationship with her son, and on the other hand Tom (represented by a great performance) a child of 10 years who is stigmatized for his behaviour at school and at home. After an event that changes the direction of the film, Elena rebels against the system and at this point the film transforms into a story charged with humanity, it allows the viewer to accompany these two characters who are “at the margin of the system ”in their path of accepting each other. For these reasons we consider that “El Otro Tom” has a well-developed script that presents a difficult subject with great strength and is also supported by a beautiful photography that connects you with the location of the film. We believe that this is a work that should definitely reach the cinemas.

The jury was composed of:

Merino MILAGROS, Cinema Palma, Trevignano, Italy
Luis APOLINARIO
, Alambique, Portugal (Europa Distribution)
Monica FELEA
, Bad Unicorn, Romania (Europa Distribution)

Leave a Comment

© 2012 Création site internet paris Sofracs.com

Scroll to top
agence web paris agence web paris

You Are Here: Accueil » CICAE Art Cinema Award » Art Cinema Award ex aequo pour Memory House de João Paulo Miranda Maria et El Otro Tom de Rodrigo Plá et Laura Santullo, lors de Cinéma en Construction 37 Toulouse

Art Cinema Award ex aequo pour Memory House de João Paulo Miranda Maria et El Otro Tom de Rodrigo Plá et Laura Santullo, lors de Cinéma en Construction 37 Toulouse

Art Cinema Award ex aequo pour Memory House de João Paulo Miranda Maria et El Otro Tom de Rodrigo Plá et Laura Santullo, lors de Cinéma en Construction 37 Toulouse

Les films Memory House (Maison de souvenirs) de João Paulo Miranda Maria et El Otro Tom (L’Autre Tom) de Rodrigo Plá et Laura Santullo, ont reçu le Art Cinema Award ex aequo lors de Cinélatino Cinéma En Construction 37 Toulouse.

Informations sur les films

Memory House
Brésil, 2020, 87 minutes
Réalisation et scénario : João Paulo Miranda Maria
Avec : Antonio Pitanga, Ana Flavia Cavalcanti, Sam Louwyck
Production : Paulo COSENZA (BOSSA NOVA FILMS) et Maneki Films
Vente Internationale : 

Plus d’informations sur le site du festival.

Synopsis

Cristovam, originaire de l’arrière-pays brésilien, travaille dans une usine à lait d’une région prospère du Brésil, ancienne colonie autrichienne. Il s’y sent seul, marqué par les différences culturelles et ethniques. Un jour, il découvre une maison abandonnée remplie d’objets lui rappelant ses origines. Il prend progressivement possession de la maison. Curieusement, des objets y apparaissent, sans explication, comme s’il s’agissait d’un lieu « vivant ».

Décision du jury :

« Maison de souvenirs » (Casa de antiguidades) est un film intense et complexe qui met en exergue les profondes divisions culturelles et sociales du Brésil dans un fantastique inattendu. Dès les premières scènes du film, nous commençons à éprouver de l’attachement au personnage de Cristovam, sa solitude et son ostracisme sont particulièrement touchants. Sa démence lui donne refuge dans une vieille maison abandonnée, au sein d’une petite ville rurale au sud du pays, où émergent ses vieux souvenirs qui lui font perdre tout lien avec la réalité. Le film, soutenu par une grande cinématographie, un scénario élaboré avec des rebondissements imprévus ne laissent pas le spectateur indifférent. Il est également important de mentionner l’acteur principal (Antonio Pitanga) qui n’a pas besoin de beaucoup de dialogues pour nous enfouir profondément dans l’histoire. Nous estimons que João Paulo Miranda est un jeune réalisateur à voir absolument, il a créé une grande œuvre imaginative et poétique qui deviendra une nouvelle tournure du cinéma latino-américain.

El Otro Tom (L’Autre Tom)
Mexique, 2020, 110 minutes
Réalisation et scénario : Rodrigo Plá et Laura Santullo
Avec : Julia Chávez (Elena), Israel Rodríguez (Tom)
Production : Buenaventura Producciones
Vente Internationale : 

Plus d’informations sur le site du festival.

Synopsis

Elena est une mère célibataire qui dépend des services sociaux. Son fils Tom a des troubles comportementaux et de ce fait, on le stigmatise à l’école comme un « enfant à problèmes ». L’absence du père rend leur relation compliquée. Tom sera diagnostiqué  et suivi pour « Syndrôme de déficit de l’attention et d’hyperactivité ». Cependant, un étrange accident mettra sa mère en garde contre tout traitement psychiatrique. Son refus de lui faire suivre ce traitement  provoquera la menace des services sociaux de lui retirer la garde de Tom.

Décision du jury :

« L’autre Tom » (El Otro Tom) se penche sur un sujet rarement abordé au cinéma : les diagnostics de trouble de déficit de l’attention (TDAH) et le traitement que les systèmes de santé dispensent aux enfants jugés « problématiques ».
Le film se déploie à travers ses deux personnages principaux. D’une part Elena, jeune mère célibataire qui dépend essentiellement des services sociaux et qui entretient une relation compliquée avec son fils, et d’autre part ce dernier, Tom (campé avec une belle maîtrise), un enfant de 10 ans stigmatisé pour son comportement à l’école et à la maison. Après un événement qui changera le cours initial du film, Elena va se rebeller contre le système. « L’autre Tom » se transforme alors en une histoire chargée d’humanité, permettant au spectateur d’accompagner ces deux personnages “en marge du système” sur le chemin d’une acceptation mutuelle. Nous estimons que « L’autre Tom » se distingue par un scénario bien élaboré, présentant avec une grande justesse un sujet pourtant difficile. Le film est également servi par une superbe photographie, qui transporte le spectateur dans les lieux de son déroulement. Pour toutes ces raisons, nous pensons que « L’autre Tom » est une œuvre qui mérite amplement de trouver son chemin vers les salles de cinéma.

Le jury était composé :

Merino MILAGROS, Cinema Palma, Trevignano, Italie
Luis APOLINARIO, Alambique, Portugal (Europa Distribution)
Monica FELEA, Bad Unicorn, Roumanie (Europa Distribution)

Poster un commentaire

© 2012 Création site internet paris Sofracs.com

Scroll to top
agence web paris agence web paris