You Are Here: Home » CICAE Art Cinema Award » Produkty 24 and Geographies of Solitude win the CICAE Arthouse Cinema Awards at the 72nd Berlinale

Produkty 24 and Geographies of Solitude win the CICAE Arthouse Cinema Awards at the 72nd Berlinale

Produkty 24 and Geographies of Solitude win the CICAE Arthouse Cinema Awards at the 72nd Berlinale

On Thursday 17 February 2022, the juries of the International Confederation of Arthouse Cinemas (CICAE) at the 72nd Berlinale announced the winning films of the Arthouse Cinema Award: Produkty 24 (Convenience Store) by Michael Borodin of the Panorama section; and Geographies of Solitude by Jacquelyn Mills in the Forum section.

“The CICAE Arthouse Cinema Awards are a symbol of appreciation to the filmmakers who dedicate their talent, love and sensitivity to create such impressive works of art. They also emphasise the important bond between arthouse cinemas and the Berlinale festival, which has always been a close partner to the world of film off the mainstream. Our ultimate ambition is to present the award-winning films on the big screen, where they can unfolded their radiance to the broadest audience possible. Congratulations to the winners”, says Dr. Christian Bräuer, president of the CICAE.

The CICAE Juries at Berlinale – (from left to right): Éva Demeter, Tisza Mozi, Szolnok (HU), Sabine Girsberger, Schweizer Studiofilm Verband (CH), Dr. Christian Bräuer, president of the CICAE, Carla Molino, Il Kino Berlin (DE), Jochen Frankl, Burg Theater, Burg (DE), Joanna Piotrowiak, Kino Muza, Poznan (PL), Albert Triviño Massó, Zumzeig, Barcelona (ES) and Boglárka Nagy, managing director of the CICAE. Photo © Stefan Zeitz

PRODUKTY 24 / CONVENIENCE STORE de Michael Borodin
Arthouse Cinema Award at Berlinale Panorama 2022

The film Produkty 24 by Michael Borodin received the Arthouse Cinema Award at the 72nd Berlinale.

Film information

Produkty 24 (Convenience Store)
Russian Federation / Slovenia / Turkey, 2022, 106 minutes
Written and Directed by: Michael Borodin
Cinematographer: Ekaterina Smolina
Editing: Aleksandra Putsyato
Cast: Zukhara Sanzysbay, Lyudmila Vasilyeva, Tolibzhon Suleimanov, Nargiz Abdullaeva, Asel Tuytubaeva
Production: Metrafilms
International Sales: Heretic Outreach

More information on the Berlinale website

Synopsis

In the back room of a small supermarket in suburban Moscow, a modest wedding is being celebrated. A harmonious community of immigrant workers, you might think. But Mukhabbat’s face looks troubled. The Uzbek is an immigrant worker at “Produkty 24”. Despite being pregnant, she toils day and night in cramped conditions as a member of a pseudo-family of labourers under the iron rule of shop owner Zhanna. Those who disobey or even try to run away are brutally abused. Meanwhile, the police look the other way and even join in, helping themselves to anything in the shop – even the people – free of charge. But then, when not just Mukhabbat’s passport but the most important thing in her life is taken away from her, she decides to break free.

Jury’s decision:


In this year’s selection we saw a lot of films about a lot of problems – but actually, all of us were touched by PRODUKTY 24 which highlights the situation of people caught in human trafficking and modern slavery.
The artistic, captivating approach, taking the audience skin-deep into the depressing and inhumane atmosphere of the convenience store and then bringing us to the actual source of the problem in Central Asia – whose apparent freedom is deceiptful – is especially noteworthy.
It’s a problem that bothers all of Europe in one way or the other: a hidden topic which hasn’t been highlighted much so far but deserves attention. Therefore, this movie should be exhibited in as many cinemas as possible – and it’s from a debut director to boot!
Congratulations, Michael Borodin, to the CICAE Arthouse Cinema Award for your remarkable film PRODUKTY 24!

The jury was formed by:

Éva Demeter, Tisza Mozi, Szolnok (HU)
Jochen U. Frankl, Burg Theater, Burg (DE)
Sabine Girsberger, Schweizer Studiofilm Verband, Zurich (CH)

GEOGRAPHIES OF SOLITUDE de Jacquelyn Mills
Arthouse Cinema Award at Berlinale Forum 2022

The film Geographies of Solitude by Jacquelyn Mills received the Arthouse Cinema Award at the 72nd Berlinale.

Film information

Geographies of Solitude
Canada, 2022, 103 minutes
Directed by: Jacquelyn Mills
Cinematographer: Jacquelyn Mills, Additional Camera: Scott Moore
Editing: Jacquelyn Mills, Additional Editor: Pablo Alvarez-Mesa
With: Zoe Lucas
Produced by: Rosalie Chicoine Perreault and Jacquelyn Mills

More information on the Berlinale website

Synopsis

Two women on a lonely island off the coast of Nova Scotia: Sable Island. Conservationist Zoe Lucas was an art student when she came there for the first time in the 1970s and has been living on this remote strip of land for decades now, mostly alone. Director Jacquelyn Mills films Lucas on her daily trips around the island to observe the local flora and fauna. Her studies of Sable Island’s population of wild horses, for which the island is famous, and of the biodiversity there in general have made the self-taught scientist an esteemed expert. Collecting the alarming amounts of plastic washing up also forms part of Lucas’s everyday life.

Jury’s decision

We the jury of the CICAE Prize at Berlinale Forum composed by Carla Molino from Il Kino Berlin, Joanna Piotrowiak from Kino Muza Poznan and Albert Trivino from Zumzeig Barcelona, want to highlight the great diversity of all the films of the Forum section this year. We think all of them constituted a great portrait of present important issues around the world.
Amongst all of them, we have selected a documentary that addresses contemporary topics such as isolation and ecology by making a poetic portrait of small piece of land that works as a metaphor of our present world and our relationship with the future of society and nature. Its expressionistic style makes this film a truly intense experience that takes us on a journey of poetic nature through the landscape and its biodiversity by establishing an intimate relationship between the protagonist, the director and the audience.
We truly think that this film must be seen around the world and we hope this award will help this happen.
The film we have selected for the CICAE Prize at Berlinale Forum is Geographies of Solitude by director Jacquelyn Mills.

The jury was formed by:

Carla Molino, IL KINO, Berlin (DE)
Joanna Piotrowiak, Kino Muza w Poznaniu, Poznań (PL)
Albert Triviño Massó, Zumzeig Cinema, Barcelona (ES)
Scroll to top
agence web paris agence web paris

You Are Here: Accueil » CICAE Art Cinema Award » Produkty 24 et Geographies of Solitude remportent les Arthouse Cinema Awards à la 72e Berlinale.

Produkty 24 et Geographies of Solitude remportent les Arthouse Cinema Awards à la 72e Berlinale.

Produkty 24 et Geographies of Solitude remportent les Arthouse Cinema Awards à la 72e Berlinale.

Le jeudi 17 février 2022, les jurys de la Confédération internationale des cinémas d’art et d’essai (CICAE) de la 72e Berlinale ont annoncé les films gagnants du prix du cinéma d’art et d’essai : Produkty 24 (Convenience Store) de Michael Borodin de la section Panorama ; et Geographies of Solitude de Jacquelyn Mills dans la section Forum.

“Les Arthouse Cinema Awards de la CICAE sont un acte de reconnaissance envers ces cinéastes qui consacrent leur talent, leur amour et leur sensibilité à la création d’œuvres d’art aussi émouvantes. Ces récompenses mettent également en lumière le lien indéfectible entre les cinémas Art et Essai et la Berlinale, un festival qui a toujours été l’allié et le partenaire proche d’un cinéma sortant des sentiers battus. Notre ambition ultime est de présenter les oeuvres primées sur grand écran, où elles pourront déployer leur rayonnement auprès d’un public aussi large que possible. Nous adressons nos félicitations à l’ensemble des lauréats”, a déclaré le Dr Christian Bräuer, président de la CICAE.

Les jurys de la CICAE à la Berlinale – (de gauche à droite) : Éva Demeter, Tisza Mozi, Szolnok (HU), Sabine Girsberger, Schweizer Studiofilm Verband (CH), Dr. Christian Bräuer, président de la CICAE, Carla Molino, Il Kino Berlin (DE), Jochen Frankl, Burg Theater, Burg (DE), Joanna Piotrowiak, Kino Muza, Poznan (PL), Albert Triviño Massó, Zumzeig, Barcelone (ES) et Boglárka Nagy, directeur général de la CICAE. Photo © Stefan Zeitz

PRODUKTY 24 / CONVENIENCE STORE de Michael Borodin
Arthouse Cinema Award au Berlinale Panorama

Le film Produkty 24 de Michael Borodin, a reçu le Arthouse Cinema Award lors du 72e Berlinale.

Informations sur les films

Produkty 24 (Convenience Store)
Fédération de Russie / Slovénie / Turquie, 2022, 106 minutes
Écrit et réalisé par : Michael Borodin
Directeur de la photographie : Ekaterina Smolina
Montage : Aleksandra Putsyato
Cast : Zukhara Sanzysbay, Lyudmila Vasilyeva, Tolibzhon Suleimanov, Nargiz Abdullaeva, Asel Tuytubaeva
Production: Metrafilms
Ventes internationales : Heretic Outreach

Plus d’informations sur le site du festival.

Synopsis

Dans une banlieue de Moscou, une épicerie de quartier comme tant d’autres fait travailler illégalement des immigrés ouzbeks. Séquestrés, menacés, ils sont de véritables esclaves modernes. Mukhabbat, une femme ouzbek « employée » dans l’épicerie fait le choix difficile de révéler aux autorités leurs conditions de vie comme tentative désespérée de sauver son enfant, qui a été kidnappé par le propriétaire de l’épicerie. Ce sacrifice l’oblige à avouer qu’elle est sur le sol russe illégalement. Contrainte de revenir en Ouzbékistan, elle est bien décidée à récupérer son enfant resté en Russie.

Décision du jury :

Dans la sélection de cette année, nous avons vu beaucoup de films sur beaucoup de problèmes, mais nous avons tous été touchés par PRODUKTY 24, qui met en lumière la situation des personnes victimes de la traite des êtres humains et de l’esclavage moderne.
L’approche artistique, qui consiste à plonger le public dans l’atmosphère déprimante et inhumaine du magasin de proximité pour ensuite nous amener à la source réelle du problème en Asie centrale – dont l’apparente liberté est trompeuse – est particulièrement remarquable.
C’est un problème qui concerne toute l’Europe d’une manière ou d’une autre : un sujet caché qui n’a pas encore reçu beaucoup d’attention, mais qui la mérite. C’est pourquoi ce film devrait être projeté dans le plus grand nombre de salles possible – et en plus, c’est un premier film!
Félicitations, Michael Borodin, pour le prix CICAE pour votre remarquable film PRODUKTY 24 !

Le jury était composé :

Éva Demeter, Tisza Mozi, Szolnok (HU)

Jochen U. Frankl, Burg Theater, Burg (DE)
Sabine Girsberger, Schweizer Studiofilm Verband, Zurich (CH)

GEOGRAPHIES OF SOLITUDE de Jacquelyn Mills
Arthouse Cinema Award au Berlinale Forum

Le film Geographies of Solitude de Jacquelyn Mills, a reçu le Arthouse Cinema Award lors du 72e Berlinale.

Informations sur les films

Geographies of Solitude
Canada, 2022, 103 minutes
Réalisé par : Jacquelyn Mills
Directeur de la photographie : Jacquelyn Mills, Caméra supplémentaire : Scott Moore
Montage : Jacquelyn Mills, Montage additionnel : Pablo Alvarez-Mesa
Avec : Zoe Lucas
Produit par : Rosalie Chicoine Perreault et Jacquelyn Mills

Plus d’informations sur le site du festival.

Synopsis

Deux femmes sur une île isolée au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse : l’île de Sable. Zoe Lucas, défenseure de l’environnement, était étudiante en art lorsqu’elle s’y est rendue pour la première fois dans les années 1970. Depuis des décennies, elle vit sur cette bande de terre isolée, le plus souvent seule. La réalisatrice Jacquelyn Mills filme Lucas lors de ses déplacements quotidiens sur l’île pour observer la faune et la flore locales. Ses études sur la population de chevaux sauvages de l’île de Sable, pour laquelle l’île est célèbre, et sur la biodiversité en général ont fait de ce scientifique autodidacte un expert estimé. La collecte des quantités alarmantes de plastique qui s’échouent sur les plages fait également partie du quotidien de Lucas.

Décision du jury :

Nous, le Jury du Prix CICAE au forum de la Berlinale, constitué de Carla Molino de Il Kino Berlin, Joanna Piotrowiak de Kino Muza Poznan et Albert Trivino de Zumzeig Barcelona – tenons d’abord à mettre en avant la richesse et la diversité de tous les films ayant participé à la section Forum de cette édition. Nous croyons fortement que toutes les oeuvres présentées ont réussi à dresser un excellent portrait des principales problématiques du monde d’aujourd’hui.
De tous ces films, nous avons sélectionné un documentaire qui traite des sujets très contemporains comme l’isolement ou encore l’écologie, en réalisant un portrait poétique d’un morceau de terre qui se veut une métaphore de notre monde ainsi que de notre relation avec l’avenir de la société et de la nature.
Le style expressionniste adopté par ce film en fait une expérience intense qui nous emmène dans un voyage poétique dans le paysage et sa biodiversité tout en établissant une relation intime entre le protagoniste, le réalisateur et le public.
Nous estimons réellement que ce film mériterait d’être vu dans le monde entier et nous espérons profondément que ce prix pourra contribuer à cela.
Le Prix CICAE du Forum Berlinale est alors décerné au film “Geographies of Solitude” de la réalisatrice Jacquelyn Mills.

Le jury était composé :

Carla Molino, IL KINO, Berlin (DE)
Joanna Piotrowiak, Kino Muza w Poznaniu, Poznań (PL)
Albert Triviño Massó, Zumzeig Cinema, Barcelona (ES)
Scroll to top
agence web paris agence web paris