You Are Here: Home » CICAE Art Cinema Award » Monos by Alejandro Landes wins the Art Cinema Award at the Cinefest Miskolc

Monos by Alejandro Landes wins the Art Cinema Award at the Cinefest Miskolc

Monos by Alejandro Landes wins the Art Cinema Award at the Cinefest Miskolc

The International Confederation of Arthouse Cinemas is proud to announce that the Art Cinema Award at the 16th Cinefest Miskolc goes to Monos by Alejandro Landes.

Film information

Colombia, Argentina, Netherlands, Denmark, Sweden, Germany, Uruguay, United States, 2019, 102 minutes
Director: Alejandro Landes
Director of photography: Jasper Wolf
Script: Alejandro Landes and Alexis Dos Santos
Cast: Moisés Arias, Julianne Nicholsono, Sofia Buenaventura, Julián Giraldo, Deibi Rueda
Production : Stela Cine & Fernando Epstein, Mutante Cine
Co-Production : Campo Cine, Lemming Film, Pandora Film Produktion, Snowglobe, Film I Väst (SE)
International Sales: Le Pacte

More information on the festival’s website.


 On a faraway Colombian mountaintop, what at first glance looks like a hedonistic summer camp, is actually the setting of a mission: child soldiers with war names must make sure that Doctor, a kidnapped American woman, stays alive. But when a battle approaches and a borrowed milk cow is killed by accident, playtime is over.

Jury’s decision:

We have decided to award a special, bluntly honest and exceptional film.
Monos is a journey into the depths of darkness, expressed through impressive visuals, amazing cinematography and music. A blatant realistic presentation of what is happening to humanity.
War does not pick its soldiers. In dictatorial states children get weapons and under evil influence the innocent can turn into monsters.

Albeit the film is frustratingly cruel and brutal, it is a reflection of our present society and we have to admit that the children played by outstanding actors could even be ours. What we see in this film, could happen to anytime also to us if we would be absorbed by the machinery of war, the fear of retribution and death.

The jury was composed of:

Ewa Kujawińska, Kino Pałacowe, Poznan, Poland
Tamás Fejér
, Apollo mozi, Debrecen, Hungary
Käte Schaeffer, Arsenal Kinobetriebe, Tübingen, Germany

Scroll to top
agence web paris agence web paris