You Are Here: Home » THE ASSOCIATION

THE ASSOCIATION

The CICAE is a non-profit association aiming at promoting cultural diversity in cinemas and festivals.

 

The CICAE was founded in 1955 by the national arthouse cinema associations of Germany, France, the Netherlands and Switzerland. The collective and concerted action of these pioneers led to the emergence in each country of a real market for quality films, as well as national schemes aimed at supporting theatres that took a stand in favour of this “high-risk” cinematographic art form.

The CICAE is recognized by the council of Europe, sits on the Bureau of the International Council for Film Television and Audiovisual Communication (IFTC) UNESCO, is a member of Media Salles, and has been a member of the Coalition française pour la diversité culturelle since its inception in 2003. It collaborates with Europa Cinemas, receives support from UNESCO, the European Union’s MEDIA programme, the CNC (France), the FFA (Germany), the DGC (Italy), to name but a few.

Objectives

  • Encouraging arthouse cinemas to come together under a common umbrella at the national and international level.
  • Obtaining support for arthouse films from government bodies.
  • Fostering the distribution of high quality films from all countries, in all countries.
  • Promoting the screening of art films in order to increase audiences and foster production through targeted cultural initiatives.

 

A 100-million-strong audience in Europe

In countries where the art cinema sector is well developed, arthouse films account for 10 to 25 percent of all tickets sold. Art cinema upholds the values of “quality cinema that knows no borders”, although, de facto, the bulk is made up of European productions and co-productions. Statistics show that in several countries arthouse cinemas draw up to 80 percent of audiences for quality European films; they are also the most appropriate setting where moviegoers can discover African, Asian, Latin American and independent films from the USA. Thus the arthouse cinema industry is (also) a market, which connects quality films with their main “consumers”, i.e. cinema enthusiasts.

Action

  • Emphasize the importance of art cinemas
  • Train art-house professionals
  • Promote cinemas and festivals
  • Recommend art films
  • Bring art cinemas of the world together: Art Cinema Day
  • Prepare the future of art cinemas: Green Screens
Scroll to top

You Are Here: Accueil » L’ASSOCIATION

L’ASSOCIATION

La CICAE est une association à but non-lucratif agissant pour la diversité culturelle dans les salles de cinéma et les festivals.

 

LA CICAE a été fondée en 1955 par les associations nationales Art & Essai d’Allemagne, de France, de Suisse et des Pays-Bas. L’action collective et concertée de ces pionniers a permis l’émergence, dans chaque pays, d’un véritable marché pour le cinéma de qualité et de systèmes nationaux de soutien aux salles défendant ce cinéma « à risque ».

 

La CICAE est reconnue par le Conseil de l’Europe, elle siège au Bureau du Conseil International du Cinéma et de la Télévision (CICT), de l’UNESCO et de Media Salles, elle est membre de la Coalition pour la Diversité Culturelle depuis sa création en 2003. Elle coopère avec Europa Cinemas et Media Salles, elle est soutenue par l’UNESCO, le programme MEDIA de l’Union Européenne, par le CNC (France), la FFA (Allemagne), la DGC (Italie), etc.

 

Objectifs

  • Encourager le regroupement des cinémas Art et Essai au niveau national et international.
  • Agir auprès des autorités pour qu’elles soutiennent le cinéma d’Art et Essai.
  • Favoriser la circulation des films de qualité de tous les pays dans tous les pays.
  • Promouvoir, par une action culturelle adaptée, la diffusion de ces films afin d’en accroître l’audience et d’en inciter la production.

 

100 millions de spectateurs en Europe

Dans les pays où le secteur Art & Essai est développé, il représente 10 à 25% de la fréquentation des cinémas. L’Art & Essai défend « le cinéma de qualité, sans frontières », même s’il est de fait majoritairement dédié aux productions et co-productions européennes. Les statistiques montrent que les salles Art & Essai représentent dans plusieurs pays jusqu’à 80% des spectateurs pour les films européens de qualité ; elles sont aussi le lieu naturel de découverte des cinémas africain, asiatique, latino-américain et indépendant américain. L’Art & Essai est donc (aussi) un marché, celui qui garantit au cinéma de qualité son principal débouché vers le public cinéphile.

 

Action

  • Défendre les cinémas Art & Essai auprès des pouvoirs publics
  • Former les exploitants Art & Essai
  • Promouvoir les cinémas et les festivals Art & Essai
  • Recommander certains films Art & Essai
  • Réunir les cinémas Art & Essai du monde lors de la Journée Europénne de l’Art & Essai
  • Préparer le futur des cinémas Art & Essai avec le projet Green Screens
Scroll to top